Lesson plans, guides, and other material available for classroom teachers online.
Last Updated: Aug 19, 2013
Free Online Textbooks
- cK-12 Flex Books
CK-12 Foundation is a non-profit organization with a mission to reduce the cost of textbook materials for the K-12 market both in the U.S. and worldwide. Using an open-content, web-based collaborative model termed the "FlexBook," CK-12 intends to pioneer the generation and distribution of high quality educational content that will serve both as core text as well as provide an adaptive environment for learning.
Connexions is a dynamic digital educational ecosystem consisting of an educational content repository and a content management system optimized for the delivery of educational content. Connexions is one of the most popular open education sites in the world. Its more than 17,000 learning objects or modules in its repository and over 1000 collections (textbooks, journal articles, etc.) are used by over 2 million people per month.
- Flat World Knowledge
Premium open source textbooks by top authors. Totally editable, totally free.
- Online Encylopedia
Begun in 2006 by Eugene M. Izhikevich from the Neurosciences Institute, San Diego. It covers computational neuroscience, dynamical systems, computational intelligence, physics, and astrophysics.
Open Library is associated with Internet Archive. It allows users to freely access texts in many subject areas, including fiction, popular books, children's books, academic books, historical textbooks, and reference books. Over one million out of copyright and open access titles are available for free download. Over ten thousand titles, including some recently published items, are avaiable for temporary check out.
- Cells Alive!
CELLS alive! represents 30 years of capturing film and computer-enhanced images of living cells and organisms for education and medical research.
- K-12 Resources For Music Educators
Valuable resources for music educators and students of all areas and educational levels. Regularly updated. For over fifteen years, the most visited and valued music education resource website available internationally. Carefully researched and commercial free.
- K-12 Teaching Resources and Activities, by Dr. Dirt
These resources have been developed primarily for K-8 teachers and students. Hands-on, exploratory learning activities based on methods of scientific inquiry will encourage interest in science, soil, engineering, agriculture, and natural resources. The activities could easily be adapted and extended to challenge students in grades 9-12.
- Anatomy of the Eye
Interactive cross-sectional diagram of the eye, provided by a contact lens manufacturer.
- Discovery Education
Offers a broad range of free classroom resources, including programs and contests, interactive games, puzzles, lesson plans, videos and more.
- Dissect an Owl Pellet
Vitually dissect an owl pellet, provided by KidWings.
- Microsoft Education
Free downloadable lesson plans, templates, software, applications, videos, and more.
- Online Cat Dissection
Virtually dissect a cat, view labeled diagrams, or even see live dissections, provided by ThinkQuest.
- Outline Maps
Houghton Mifflin offers downloadable outline maps of the United States and the world, including current and historic.
Thinkfinity contains comprehensive teaching and learning resources, provided by Verizon. The contents are grade specific and are aligned with state standards.
- All about the Eye
A lasik surgery provider includes detailed information about the physiology of the human eye, including outside links to more information.
Thanks to Ms. McKnight's class for the suggestion!
- Bill of Rights Institute
Lesson plans, games, and other resources to help teach about the Constitution, the Bill of Rights, and other aspects of our federal government.
- C-Span Classroom
Free primary source materials for social studies teachers.
- Conservation Investigations: Seahorses
SEA (Shedd Educational Adventures) brings the Philippines to life for your students with fact sheets and multimedia interactives based on the Wild Reef exhibit at Shedd Aquarium.
Contains lesson plans and interactives, searchable by grade level.
- Cool Science
Howard Hughes Medical Institute provides innovative resources for science teachers to use in their classroom.
- Energy Hog
A game to teach the value of conserving energy, provided by the Alliance to Save Energy.
- Folger Shakespeare Library
Online resources for teachers.
HippoCampus is a project of the Monterey Institute for Technology and Education (MITE). The goal of HippoCampus is to provide high-quality, multimedia content on general education subjects to high school and college students free of charge.
- J. Paul Getty Museum
Resources for the Classroom.
- National Science Foundation
Welcome to Classroom Resources--a diverse collection of lessons and web resources for classroom teachers, their students, and students' families. Materials are arranged by subject area to help you quickly find resources in your interest area, and then use them to create lesson plans or at-home activities.
- Sheep Brain Dissection: The Anatomy of Memory
Exploratorium, the Museum of Science, Art, and Human Perception, provides an online pictorial of the dissection of the brain of a sheep.
- Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum
Classroom & Teaching Resources
Electronic Field Trips
- Smithsonian National Zoological Park
Classroom Resources and Partnerships from the Nation's Zoo.
- CREATE for Mississippi
Challenging Regional Educators to Advance Technology in Education. Includes lesson plans, resources, and best practices.
- Department of Environmental Resources
Environmental and recycling lesson plans, resources, and activities. Provided by the State of Connecticut.
- K-12 Financial Literacy Resources
Resources for teachers, students, and parents to help improve the understanding of financial literacy, from the California Department of Education.
- Lesson Link
A free online resource that connects K-12 educators with nearly 700 lesson plans all created by the University of Arizona and all aligned with Arizona Academic Standards, searchable by area, level/grade, standard, concept, and performance objective.
- Resources for Teaching 6-12 Economics
The teaching of economics, geared to the state of Nebraska.
- Wisconsin Education Association Council
A list of free resources compiled by WEAC, available to anyone.
- Center on Congress at Indiana University
Educating students about their responsibilities as citizens in a representative democracy is a goal the Center on Congress shares with teachers throughout the United States. These classroom resources are designed to explain the work and role of Congress to young people from grade school to voting age.
- Chickscope: Embrylogy
How does an egg develop from the time it is laid to the time it hatches? Come explore with us the fascinating 21-day life cycle of the embryological chick.
- Documenting the American South Classroom Resources
Documenting the American South (DocSouth), a digital publishing initiative sponsored by the University Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, provides access to digitized primary materials that offer Southern perspectives on American history and culture. It supplies teachers, students, and researchers at every educational level with a wide array of titles they can use for reference, studying, teaching, and research.
- Fetal Pig Dissection
Virtually dissect a fetal pig as an alternative to the real thing. Provided by Whitman College.
- Math Archives
Material for the teaching of mathematics at the K-12 level.
- Department of Energy
Instructional resources to help educate our nation's next generation of scientists.
- Harry Potter's World: Renaissance Science, Magic, and Medicine
The National Library of Medicine offers middle and high school science and English lesson plans using the work of J. K. Rowling.
- NASA Quest
NASA Quest Challenges are FREE Web-based, interactive explorations designed to engage students in authentic scientific and engineering processes. The solutions relate to issues encountered daily by NASA personnel.
- Team Nutrition Materials
Team Nutrition print materials are available only to schools and child care centers that participate in the Federal Child Nutrition Programs. All others are welcome to download our materials from our Website at teamnutrition.usda.gov. If you cannot find an item on this order form, it is temporarily out of stock. Please check back often for its availability.
- Chegg.com by Heather Campbell
Although primarily a textbook site, Chegg offers a number of free services including homework help and course management (with an upgraded membership students will receive more features/benefits however)
- Free Quizzes by Anonymous
Online quizzes and games.
- Financial Literacy Education by Dan
Financial literacy quizzes.